Freda Leads Republican Ticket for November Election

North Haven Republicans pick their slate of candidates for the November election.

Insuring that “North Haven will be a bright and shiny beacon of light in the dark waters around us,” First Selectman Michael Freda accepted the Republican Town Committee's nomination to run for re-election this fall.

Freda will face off against Walter Spader, who was as the Democratic Town Committee's candidate for first selectman.

Freda was nominated along with a complete slate of Republican candidates for the Nov. 8 election, during a North Haven Republican Town Committee meeting last night at the .

Freda was nominated by state Sen. Len Fasano (R-34), who lauded Freda’s first term. “He turned the town around in many ways and achieved fiscal stability,” Fasano said.

Freda’s acceptance speech focused on the successes and failures of his first term and a vision for the future should he be re-elected.

He said his successes include “an outstanding financial state."

"We’re surprised at how well we’ve done and our fund balance is in tremendous shape," he said.

Freda also praised the town’s public safety forces, the education system and the economic development drive during which “many cinderblocks have been put into place.”

But economic development is far from complete and Freda said the major failure of his administration has been an inability to develop
northern Washington Avenue.

As for the future, Freda promised that “residents will see significant developments with new businesses brought in.”

He briefly mentioned the proposed Yale New Haven Hospital emergency center, which he has strongly supported, but has been opposed by the town of Meriden and Mid-State Hospital. The state Office of Health Care Access is currently deliberating on the project and will have a decision by Oct. 3, Freda said.

Freda praisesd Spader as a “fine candidate. I’m looking forward to the campaign.” He said debates will take place, probably in August.

Freda and all the candidates were unanimously approved by the RTC, which voted yes after each candidate was announced by RTC Chairwoman Jean Pieper and nominated by individual members of the Town Committee, including state Rep. David Yaccarino, R-87.

In addition to Freda, the nominations are:

  • Second Selectman, Timothy Doheny
  • Town Clerk/Tax Collector, J. Stacey Yarbrough
  • Town Treasurer, Laurie-Jean Hannon
  • Board of Finance, Richard Monico and William Pieper
  • Board of Education, Bert Monzealous, Stephen Consiglio and Bryan Bogen
  • Board of Assessment Appeals, Michael Fletcher and Jane Andrews
  • Planning and Zoning Commission, Douglas Roberts and Curtis Andrews
  • Sr. Police Commissioner, Joseph D’Errico
  • Fire Commissioner, Salvatore Muzio
  • Zoning Board of Appeals, Donald Clark
  • Zoning Board of Appeal alternates, Mary Jane Mulligan and Jacob Piekarski
  • Constables, Marguerite Carboni, Frederic Kelly and Mildred Stankiewicz


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »